Looking Back on The iDOLM@STER Part 1: A Missed Opportunity

The iDOLM@STER is one of my favorite shows of the year, if not my number one. It is a really fantastic show and I would recommend it, but that’s not what I’m going to talk about in this post. I’ll save my review filled with glowing praise and adoration for another time. Here I want to talk about a what I think was an waste of potential and my least favorite episode of the entire show. Episode sixteen (aka Hibiki’s episode) was a weak episode and is a good example of wasted potential, but it is not the one I have in mind. No, the episode that disappointed me the most was episode nine, the one that focused on the Futami twins.

Don’t remember which one that was? Well maybe this will jog your memory!

Now, this wasn’t a terrible episode, but I feel that this episode missed a big opportunity for some serious drama. After Ami became a part of Ryuuguu Komachi, I wanted to see an episode about Mami. Having Miki get upset about not being picked for Ryuuguu Komachi made for a good story arc, but I had expected that Mami would be the first to take it hard given that her twin got picked for the special group that went on to become extremely popular. Mami really is a saint for not showing any signs of jealousy at all, but that didn’t stop me from feeling bad for her.

In the original iDOLM@STER game, Mami performed on stage under her sister’s name. In fact, people outside of 765 pro were not aware that Ami even had a sister, let alone one that substituted for her on occasion. Never getting recognized as her own person, Mami was forever trapped in Ami’s shadow. In the show, this obviously isn’t the case because Mami has distinguished herself from her sister with a different hairstyle and is recognized by fans as a different person. However, in a way, Mami is still the “lesser” of the twins because of Ami’s success in her idol group with Iori and Azusa.

One of the major themes in the iDOLM@STER is the pursuit of one’s dreams and this episode seemed like a great place for it to be explored. Each of the girls have their own reasons for becoming an idol and the Futami twins are no different. The episode highlighted the girls playful nature and bond with each other, but I didn’t really get to know them at all from this. What I really wanted from this episode was to get to know the two as individuals. I wanted to see how Mami felt about Ami going down a path she couldn’t be a part of. I wanted to learn about Mami’s personal dreams and passions. For that matter, I would’ve liked to learn about Ami’s as well.

The light-hearted, playful episode nine was fun, but was not too memorable because it was focused on the shenanigans and not the characters. And at the end of the day, the Futami twins remain two of the girls that I can connect with the least (Takane doesn’t really count because you aren’t supposed to be able to understand her).

Instead of focusing on the playful aspect of the Futami twins that is constantly seen throughout the series in their interactions with the other characters, I would have liked to see episode nine be about Ami and Mami, both as individuals and as the wonderful pair that I enjoyed watching.

5 thoughts on “Looking Back on The iDOLM@STER Part 1: A Missed Opportunity

  1. Liked the show overall, but I still have not gotten around to playing the games like I planned (especially the new one that came out a while back =_=) I also liked the Futami twins as well (more partial to Yukiho though).

    • If you do get around to playing the games I’d love to hear what you think about them! I really want to play The iDOLM@STER 2, but I don’t understand Japanese fluently enough to make it worthwhile. But I’ll get there eventually! (^.^)/

      Yukiho is pretty adorable, but my favorite is one of other girls. Actually, I plan on talking about her in part two, so stay tuned for that! 😀

      • I know some Japanese, so I determined to put it to use on some games I would never get to play otherwise or wait on for translation. iDOLM@STER 2 is definitely one of them ^^

        The habit of burying herself in holes not too pleasing, but one of the things I like about he shy personality. Will do and looking forward to it ^^

      • That’s awesome! 🙂

        What I liked about Yukiho’s character the most was seeing how much growth she went through over the series. First overcoming her agoraphobia, and then being able to keep up with the other idols during their practice for the concert. Then finally being to stand by herself with the “Little Match Girl.”

  2. Pingback: Looking Back on The iDOLM@STER Part 3: And The Verdict Is…? | Through the Frozen Glass

Leave a Reply

